Get A Workers Compensation Attorney In Utah Today

An employee who is receiving worker’s compensation benefits is not subjected to paying tax on the payments received nor can it be garnished to pay debts, unless it is for child support. If you became disabled and are collecting funds from your employer because you were injured on the job, your payments can only be reduced or terminated if the Labor Commission permits it. Some common reasons why the commission may allow a reduction or termination of worker’s temporary disability benefits include:

  • You engaged in some sort of criminal conduct.
  • You are guilty of acting out violently.
  • You violated your workplace health, safety, licensure, or nondiscrimination rules.
  • You failed a drug or alcohol test.

If you were receiving benefits for an injury you sustained at work and have recently learned that your benefits have been reduced without notice, consider consulting with a local Utah worker’s compensation lawyer to learn if legal action needs to be taken against your employer. Work-related injuries can be serious, even disabling. And the last thing you want to have to deal with is trying to understand why your benefits have been reduced or terminated.

Our featured worker’s compensation attorneys in Utah can speak on your behalf and help get to the bottom of the issue at hand.


Is my employer required to continue paying for my health care coverage while I am out on leave?

Understanding your rights as a worker’s compensation claimant is very important as things that you once were able to receive might be out of reach now. Take for instance your health care coverage. According to the Industrial Accidents Division of the Utah Labor Commission, the Workers’ Compensation Act doesn’t require employers to pay for health care insurance while you are out of work, however, they are expected to pay for any incurred medical expenses that have arisen due to your injury.

One thing that is recommended by the Industrial Accidents Division is that you speak with your employer and see if the Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA) is something that applies to your situation.


Am I eligible to receive FMLA while on a worker’s compensation claim?

FMLA is a federal law that requires employers to provide their employees with up to 12 weeks of unpaid job protection leave. The worker must meet certain criteria and have a valid family medical reason. Your injury might suffice for you to request FMLA benefits. Those who worked for an employer who is covered under FMLA must have worked at least 1,250 hours over the course of the last 12 months.

If you are looking to obtain more information regarding what you are entitled to and what rights you hold as a work-related injury victim, we suggest you to give us a call so we can find you the perfect worker’s compensation lawyer in your city. They will provide you with a free case review and provide you with the useful information you are seeking.


Has your employer failed to provide you with your worker’s compensation benefits? 

There are many issues that can arise when dealing with worker’s compensation and it is essential for you to have help when things aren’t going in the direction you need them to. Call us up today and allow us to place you in contact with a licensed and skilled worker’s comp attorney in Utah now if you are having trouble with your claim.