Find Workers Compensation Lawyers in Wyoming
Worker’s compensation coverage is provided to employees who sustain an injury while on the job or to certain individuals who qualify to receive death benefits in the event their family member passed away from the work injury they suffered from. If a loved one of yours has passed away in a work-related accident in the state of Wyoming, you may be entitled to collect death benefits as per Wyoming Statute 27-14-403(d). To begin the process of receiving these benefits, you must file an Application for Death Benefits with the Division of Worker’s Safety and Compensation within a one year timeframe from when the death occurred. The Division will use the date your relative died when determining these benefits, not the date they sustained an injury should it be different.
Did you recently lose a spouse, brother, sister, mother, or someone else close to you? Are you unsure as to what steps you need to take to collect the benefits that will help you financially as you try and get through this rough time? If so, now would be a good time to speak with one of our caring and trustworthy worker’s compensation attorneys in Wyoming who will provide you with all the information and help you need. USAttorneys.com provides services free of charge so that you are able to find legal help when you need it the most.
What documents do I need to file with the Application for Death Benefits?
The Division is going to need the following information:
- Your family member’s death certificate.
- Marriage certificate if applicable.
- Birth certificate of surviving spouse.
- Birth certificate of each dependent child.
- Adoption order if applicable.
- In the event there are stepchildren who have been claimed as dependents, a copy of the custody agreement must also be provided.
Who is eligible to receive worker’s compensation benefits when an employee loses their life on the job?
- Benefits are available to dependent children up until they reach the age of 18. If they are mentally or physically handicapped or are enrolled in an institute of higher education, the benefits continue to be paid out until they are 21.
- The burial expenses are also eligible to be covered unless a different agreement has already been created between the deceased and their employer. The burial expenses must not exceed $5,000 in the event they are paid out along with an additional $5,000 to cover any other related expenses that may arise.
- A spouse of a deceased employee is able to collect benefits for 54 months. In the event there is no spouse, the children would then be entitled to receive a portion of these benefits for 54 months in addition to what they are already receiving in their monthly benefit.
- In the event the employee had no spouse or children, benefits can be paid to cover the costs of funeral and medical expenses only.
Losing someone you love is never an easy hurdle to get over. But, with the help of our skilled worker’s compensation lawyers in Wyoming, you can receive benefits that will cover some of the incurred costs that have come up and get reduce some of the financial burden that has been placed on your shoulders since the passing of your loved one.
In the event you have a different worker’s compensation concern and are simply looking for some legal input, we also recommend you contact us today and let us find you the perfect lawyer to provide you with the assistance and aid you demand.