Find Workers Compensation Attorneys in Michigan
Injured at Work?
Work with a Top Workers’ Compensation Lawyer in Michigan Today
If you were injured in a work-related accident in Michigan, chances are, you may be eligible to receive benefits under the state’s workers’ compensation program, including benefits related to medical expenses and lost wages. Unfortunately, there are times when victims are denied the benefits they deserve under the law.
Whether you were recently injured, are attempting to apply for benefits or were denied a claim, you may benefit from the legal expertise of a workers’ compensation lawyer, and we are here to help you find top legal counsel.
Our site features easy access to some of the best workers’ compensation lawyers in Michigan who will take on your case and help you recover the benefits you deserve. Browse our site to find attorneys in your area and click on their profiles to learn more about their background, firm, and case history. We know you are already in pain, and the last thing you need is to struggle with finding legal representation. Our featured lawyers are all accredited, have years of successful experience in occupational law matters, and will not rest until your case resolves with the best possible outcome.
Michigan Workers’ Compensation Laws
Although workers’ comp laws vary from state to state, workers in Michigan are fully covered in the event of an accident at their job site. According to Michigan Law, all employers are required to carry a workers’ compensation insurance policy. There are NO exceptions to the law.
The workers’ comp program in Michigan is governed by the Workers’ Disability Compensation Act. Adopted in 1912, the act provides compensation to employees who suffer an injury on the job and also protects an employer from liability. The state’s Workers’ Compensation Agency is in charge of administering the provisions of the act.
Workers’ compensation benefits are used to provide injured workers with lost wages for any time lost after the accident, as well as medical and rehabilitation benefits to cover expenses related to the cost of treatment and recovery. The state itself doesn’t usually pay workers’ compensation benefits. Instead, employers customarily purchase an insurance policy from a private insurance company or obtain authority to be self-insured.
If you sustained an injury on the job, you must report the injury to your employer immediately. According to Michigan Law, medical benefits should be offered from the day of the injury. In the first 28 days of treatment, your employer has the right to choose what doctor will treat you. After that time period, you can choose your own doctor, as long as you notify your employer and insurance company, preferably in writing. You do not need authorization from the insurance company or your employer to actually be treated, provided that the treatment is reasonable and necessary.
The state also imposes a seven-day waiting period in order to determine eligibility for wage-loss benefits. If you are unable to return to work after seven consecutive days, your benefits should kick in on the eighth day. If you are unable to return to employment for 14 days or longer, you are entitled to payment for that first week of disability. After that, weekly benefits are paid at around 80 percent of your after-tax wages.
Contact a Workers’ Compensation Lawyer Today
If this sounds confusing, you are not alone. Workers’ comp lawyers understand the laws and will help you obtain the full spectrum of benefits you deserve, especially if you were denied a claim. Let our knowledgeable legal professionals protect your rights. Contact one of our featured attorneys directly or use our convenient contact form so you can get started on your case today.